I’ve been sitting with these photos for weeks, because I wasn’t sure whether or not I wanted to post them. I love fashion, obviously, and I LUUUUURVE Black folks, but this…I don’t know. It hit me in a weird spot.

Inspiration came from England’s underground Northern Soul movement, sparked by the prominent uprising of Black American soul music of the 1960s, as well as Malian photographer Malick Sidibé, who died in 2016.

I’m torn. I appreciate a major house campaign being portrayed exclusively by Black models, and the photos themselves are dope. But I am uncomfortably aware that their Blackness is part of the “art direction.”

Anyhow, enjoy the photos, which are gorgeous. But I’m curious what type of representation we will see next season when Blackness isn’t the theme.

 

photographer: Glen Luchford

761234589

